What does NFC stand for in Football?

The NFL has a very fascinating past. Before the current system was implemented, gridiron football was played in two separate leagues in the United States. The American Football League (AFL) and the National Football League (NFL) were two of them. The NFL, which has 32 teams, was created when the two leagues combined to form one in 1970.

The NFL had sixteen clubs and the AFL had ten teams before the merger. All ten AFL teams and three NFL teams were placed in the AFC (American Football Conference), while the remaining thirteen teams were placed in the NFC (National Football Conference), to distribute the teams equitably. 

Read more: Orbit Exchange

What do the NFL divisions consist of?

The AFC and NFC are the two divisions of the NFL, as we have already established. Each of the two conferences has four further divisions. Each division has four clubs in it. These divisions were created by the NFL to facilitate the scheduling of games and playoff seeding of teams. Each division’s teams will face each other twice a season, once at home and once away. This indicates that each team places the highest value on the divisional games, which have also spawned some of the biggest rivalries in sports history. For instance, because they are both in the NFC North division, the rivalry between the Green Bay Packers and the Chicago Bears is arguably the strongest in the league.

Division AFC

There are four divisions in the AFC Conference, each with four teams. The AFC East, AFC West, AFC North, and AFC South are the names of the four AFC divisions. The four divisions and the teams that comprise them are shown in the table below: 

Buffalo Bills Denver Broncos Baltimore Ravens Houston Texans
Miami Dolphins Kansas City Chiefs Cincinnati Bengals Indianapolis Colts
New England Patriots Las Vegas Raiders Cleveland Browns Jacksonville Jaguars
New York Jets Los Angeles Chargers Pittsburgh Steelers Tennessee Titans

The AFC South is the most notable division in the AFC divisions table since it includes the recently acquired Houston Texans (2002) and Jacksonville Jaguars (1995). There are other current rivalries between teams in the other divisions, including the AFC East rivalry between the Patriots and Dolphins, the AFC North rivalry between the Steelers and Browns, and the AFC West rivalry between the Chiefs and Raiders, which is arguably the most intense.

NFC Section

The NFC conference is split into four divisions of four clubs each, just like the AFC. The NFC North, NFC South, NFC West, and NFC East are these. The table below shows which teams belong to which division.

Dallas Cowboys Arizona Cardinals Chicago Bears Atlanta Falcons
New York Giants Los Angeles Rams Detroit Lions Carolina Panthers
Philadelphia Eagles San Francisco 49ers Green Bay Packers New Orleans Saints
Washington Commanders Seattle Seahawks Minnesota Vikings Tampa Bay Buccaneers


The Carolina Panthers, a 1995 expansion team, play in the NFC South, a division not particularly noted for its fiercest rivalries. The Cowboys and Giants are near the top of the NFC East, which has a lot of them. Because all four of the cities in the NFC North are adjacent to one another, which exacerbates their already existing hatred, the region also has some excellent ones.

Read more: Betting with your own odds in Orbit Exchange

NFC in Football FAQs

1) The number of divisions in the NFL?

The NFL is divided into two conferences with a total of eight divisions. The AFC North, AFC South, NFC East, NFC West, NFC North, and NFC South are these.

2) In the NFC North, which team has the best record?

With 31 and 25 postseason appearances, respectively, the Minnesota Vikings and Green Bay Packers have ruled the NFC North for the most part.

3) Which AFC North team is the most dominant?

The Pittsburgh Steelers have utterly crushed the AFC North. They have won the division 25 times in their 32 postseason appearances, in addition to their six Super Bowl victories.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *