Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul return for the Asia Cup

KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer have been selected for the India team to compete in the forthcoming Asia Cup. Both hitters had sustained long-term injuries and had been out for a sizable amount of time. But with less than two months until the World Cup, India has had a significant middle-order bounce.

Iyer has restored his previous level of fitness, according to Indian Senior Men’s Selection Committee Chairman Ajit Agarkar. Rahul, on the other hand, is dealing with a little ache unconnected to his chronic injury, and according to Agarkar, he may miss one or two Asia Cup games. Sanju Samson has been chosen by the selectors to serve as the squad’s backup player as a result. 

Tilak Varma, who performed admirably in his first international appearance in the West Indies, has been called up for his first ODI. Suryakumar Yadav has held onto his berth in the 17-man squad despite facing pressure in the 50-over format. The vice-captain of the 50-over team is still T20I captain Hardik Pandya.

The chairman of selectors, Ajit Agarkar, commented on Varma’s selection, saying, “In West Indies, we saw some real promise in terms of not just performances, but the temperament.” “And it offers us the chance to bring him onto the club and give him more exposure; he’s a left-hander once more, and he looks very potential. So, fortunately, we can bring 17; at the World Cup, it will only be 15. We’ll make that decision when the time is right, but for the time being, it at least provides the captain and coach the chance to have him on the team.

The speed attack will be led by Jasprit Bumrah, who made his eagerly anticipated comeback in Ireland and will also include Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, and bowling all-rounder Shardul Thakur. Yuzvendra Chahal has been overlooked in the spin department, while Kuldeep Yadav has been selected as the top spinner alongside all-rounders Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel.

Rohit Sharma, India’s captain, emphasized the necessity of having players who can bat at No. 8 or No. 9 in the roster in response to Chahal’s removal. This is an area where India is short in white-ball cricket. After the team was revealed, Rohit stated, “We had a deep discussion about an offspinner and a legspinner as well.” But as you can see, it all comes down to the Nos. 8 and 9 batting positions. Someone who can bat there is what we wanted. This year, Axar performed admirably in white-ball cricket. He gives us the choice of first having a left-hander who can step up and play the spinners, and he also gives us the option of batting depth. Washington and Ashwin were also topics of conversation. As you can see, Chahal was left out since there is only room for 17 players.”

Prior to the Super Fours stage, on September 4, India plays Nepal after starting their campaign against Pakistan on September 2 in Pallekele.

The following players make up the squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *