Shai Hope returns for T20Is against India

Shai Hope, the team’s ODI captain, has been invited back to the West Indies T20I lineup for the forthcoming five-match series against India. Hope’s final game for the West Indies in the format was also against India last year. However, during the past year or so, the 29-year-old has significantly improved his performance in white-ball forms.

Hope’s strike rate in ODI cricket this year has been 96.75, which is impressive considering that he was seen as being one-dimensional. Since his debut in 2016, his strike rate in a single calendar year has never exceeded 80, demonstrating the advancement he has made while currently batting at No. 4 in the order.

In addition to Hope, fast bowler Oshane Thomas has also been called up to the T20I team for the India series after recently returning to the ODI system. Shimron Hetmyer, who missed the T20 World Cup in Australia last year, will enhance the squad. Nicholas Pooran, who just smashed an incredible century in the inaugural MLC final, will also strengthen the two-time champions.

Lead Selector Desmond Haynes stated, “The squad is selected with the 2019 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in mind. “As we search for the ideal pairings, we are considering a variety of plans. As we get ready, we’re trying to put together a team that we think will be able to do the task when we host the international event in a little under a year. We have some match-winners in our lineup, and starting on Thursday here in Trinidad, we’ll try to prepare properly.

We also have additional players that might be taken into account moving ahead; the Caribbean Premier League will begin play next month.

Additionally, Cricket West Indies has verified that all 15 members of the team, which is captained by Rovman Powell, will attend all five contests. For every game, a 13-man team will be named, from which an XI will be chosen.

Two days after the ODI series ends, on August 3, the five-match series begins. The two teams will fly to Florida in the United States for the series’ last two games on August 12 and 13, following the first three games.

Squad: Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Obed McCoy, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, and Oshane Thomas. Rovman Powell is the captain. Kyle Mayers is the vice-captain.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *