Only six players from England squad retained for Windies tour

For their white-ball tour of the West Indies, England had only six players from their World Cup squad still in the ODI squad, captain Jos Buttler among them. The three ODIs and five T20Is that will be played from December 3 to December 21 will feature new squads chosen by the England selectors. The other five players are Brydon Carse, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Gus Atkinson, and Harry Brook.

Test openers Ben Duckett and Zak Crawley are included in the 15-man squad, along with uncapped ODI players Josh Tongue, Ollie Pope, and John Turner. These players are part of the 50-over setup for the Caribbean tour.

ODI team: Will Jacks, Liam Livingstone, Ollie Pope, Phil Salt, Josh Tongue, John Turner, Rehan Ahmed, Gus Atkinson, Harry Brook, Brydon Carse, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Tom Hartley, Will Jacks, and Jos Buttler (captain).

T20I team: Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Josh Tongue, Reece Topley, John Turner, Chris Woakes, Rehan Ahmed, Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Will Jacks, Liam Livingstone, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, and Chris Woakes as captain.

For the T20Is, Moeen Ali has been included despite not being included in the West Indies 50-over squad for the series. For the T20I leg of the series, Reece Topley, Chris Woakes, and Adil Rashid—all members of the World Cup squad—will be available. They were not chosen for the West Indies ODIs.

The remaining players from the World Cup squad who will not play are Mark Wood, Joe Root, Dawid Malan, Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow, and David Willey (retired).

The five members of England’s World Cup team that are included in both configurations for the West Indies tour are Buttler, Livingstone, Curran, Atkinson, and Brook. The England selectors have also chosen to include rookie legspinner Rehan Ahmed in both squads, in addition to Tongue and Turner.

The third and final 50-over match will be played in Barbados on December 9, with the first two One-Day Internationals (ODIs) scheduled for December 3 and 6 in Antigua. Moreover, Grenada will host two Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) on December 14 and 16, with Barbados hosting the first T20I on December 12. Trinidad will host the final two games of the series on December 19 and 21.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *