World Cup final and India-Pakistan game to be held in Ahmedabad

It was officially announced on Tuesday (June 27) at an ICC event in Mumbai to mark the ‘100 days to the World Cup’ countdown that the opening match, the marquee India-Pakistan, Australia-England, and the championship match of the upcoming men’s ODI World Cup will all be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The quadrennial competition will follow the same structure as in 2019: ten teams will compete against one another in a single group round, with the top four teams moving on to the quarterfinals.

Current champions On October 5, the famous competition will begin with a replay of the final from four years prior between England and New Zealand. Throughout six and a half weeks, games will be played at ten different locations: Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Delhi, Pune, Dharamsala, and Lucknow. The tournament will have 48 games total, spread out over 46 days. Only six of these matches (10:30 IST start) will be day matches; the remaining day-night matches will start at 14:00 IST.

Meanwhile, the warm-up games will be held from September 29 to October 3 in Hyderabad, Thiruvananthapuram, Guwahati, and other cities.

According to yesterday’s Cricbuzz report, the first semi-final between the top-seeded team and the fourth-placed team will take place at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on November 15. The second semi-final between the second and third-placed teams will then take place at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. In prior iterations of this competition, the World Cup semifinal and final were both hosted by Mumbai and Kolkata, respectively. There will also be a reserve day for the semifinals and final, the same as in the previous event.


India’s World Cup 2023 League stage schedule

Date Opposition Venue
October 8 Australia Chennai
October 11 Afghanistan New Delhi
October 15 Pakistan Ahmedabad
October 19 Bangladesh Pune
October 22 New Zealand Dharamsala
October 29 England Lucknow
November 2 Qualifier 2 Mumbai
November 5 South Africa Kolkata
November 11 Qualifier 1 Bengaluru


On October 8, the two-time World Cup champions India will face the five-time champions Australia in Chennai. Before the anticipated match against Pakistan on October 15, they will play Afghanistan in Delhi on October 11. During the league phase, Rohit Sharma’s team will travel the entire nation, stopping at each location to play just one game.

The top-eight finishes in the Cricket World Cup Super League allowed seven other nations—New Zealand, England, Bangladesh, Australia, Afghanistan, Pakistan, and South Africa—to gain direct entry into the World Cup along with the hosts. The winners of the ongoing World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe will fill the final two spots.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *