Jamieson and Williamson to skip Bangladesh T20Is out of caution

Kyle Jamieson, the fast bowler and the skipper Kane Williamson of New Zealand have been left out of the team to play Bangladesh in the next Twenty20 International Series. To ensure that the two are well and prepared for the remaining home series, which includes the Test series against South Africa and Australia, the decision was taken on a precautionary basis.

For the first time in over a year, Williamson returned to the T20I format as he was selected captain for the series. The 33-year-old injured his anterior cruciate ligament in the IPL’s opening match, and he hasn’t played much international cricket since. He didn’t play again until the World Cup in India, which ended recently.

Due to recent complaints of tightness in his right hamstring, Jamieson, 28, who has struggled with injuries since breaking onto the international arena three years ago, was not risked for the ODIs and was replaced in the squad by Ben Sears. Jamieson’s hamstring injury was best treated with a period of focused rehabilitation before the Test Series against South Africa in February.

“We want both Kane and Kyle to be in the best possible place leading into the next block of Test cricket against South Africa and Australia,” Gary Stead, the head coach, stated. “Based on discussions with the medical staff and the players it was decided a period of rehabilitation and conditioning was the best option for both of them.”

Seaman Jacob Duffy and World Cup hero Rachin Ravindra have joined the team, which will now be captained by Mitchell Santner.

“Jacob brings a lot to the Black Caps environment and is an experienced T20 cricket player.” In recent seasons, he’s put a lot of effort into honing his white-ball skills,” Stead remarked.”Rachin adds to any environment he’s a part of and has a great desire to learn and develop his game – across all three formats.”

The T20I team from New Zealand will get together in Napier on Boxing Day in preparation for the series opener on December 27.

Team: Mitchell Santner (captain), Ben Sears, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Jacob Duffy, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, and Tim Southee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *