How does college football overtime work?

Since Texas A&M defeated LSU in a game that required seven overtimes to win 74–72 in the 2018 season, the NCAA has made it its mission to reduce overtime. Even though the game was thrilling, it took a while. It was not ideal for the athletes on the pitch to take more than 200 photographs. 

In what ways is the NCAA altering its overtime policies? Here is everything you need to know about how this season’s overtime differs from past seasons. 

NCAA football overtime regulations

In an effort to limit the number of plays run during an overtime period, the NCAA modified its overtime regulations. After a score, teams must attempt a two-point conversion starting in the second overtime frame. That started earlier, in the third overtime frame.

Teams will also start running alternate two-point conversion attempts if the game enters a third overtime. In other words, it’s a one-play drive. This is done in order to restrict how many plays each team runs from the line of scrimmage.

The remaining guidelines for college football overtime are as follows: 

  • The referee will throw a coin at the conclusion of the regulation to decide which team will start overtime with the ball. The toss is made by the captain of the visiting team. The winner gets to decide whether to play on the offensive or defensive side of the field first or which side of the field to play on. The choice cannot be postponed.
  • The team that loses the coin toss is required to use the final choice. In the second overtime and any consecutive overtime with an even number, they will then have the option to select first from the four categories. In odd-numbered overtime sessions, the team that wins the coin toss will have the same opportunities.
  • Unless a penalty occurs to move them back, teams are given one possession in each of the first two overtime periods, starting at the opponent’s 25-yard line. Anywhere on or between the hash marks may be used by the offensive to place the ball.
  • Per overtime period, one timeout is given to each team. Timeouts do not carry over from regulation or from one overtime period to the next.
  • Each team keeps possession of the ball up until it concedes a turnover, fails to gain a first down, or fails to score.
  • Teams that score a touchdown must attempt a two-point conversion starting in the second overtime period.
  • Teams will start to alternate two-point conversion plays in place of offensive possessions starting with the third overtime period.

In both the regular season and the postseason, college football overtime regulations are the same.

Changes to the college football overtime rules

The NCAA approved the most current overtime rule modification proposal in 2021. As mentioned earlier, it was done to abbreviate games and reduce attacking repetitions.

The following rule modifications were approved for 2021:

  • Teams that score a touchdown must attempt a two-point conversion starting in the second overtime period.
  • Teams will start to alternate two-point conversion plays in place of offensive possessions starting with the third overtime period.

College football overtime rules’ history

Most NCAA games did not go into overtime until 1996. Simply put, they were tied. However, the governing body adopted overtime regulations in response to criticism of certain crucial games ending evenly.

The original overtime regulations were in force for a long time. Each team’s possession of the ball began at the opponent’s 25-yard line and continued until a touchdown, a first down, or a turnover. Up until one team was declared the winner, the teams traded possessions.

The NCAA then made a few adjustments in 2019 with the intention of shortening the contest. The two-point conversion rule was added at that time, and teams were required to attempt them beginning in the third overtime. After five extra periods, teams would begin alternately running two-point conversion plays. These modifications essentially served as a reaction to the Texas A&M vs. LSU game.

The rules were changed once again in 2021, requiring teams to run two-point conversions during the second overtime and switching between two-point plays during the third.

College Football Overtime FAQs

1) How do overtime rules in football work?

There is a three-minute pause between the conclusion of normal time and the start of the first overtime period. Similar to a game’s first half, playoff overtime consists of a single 15-minute period followed by an additional 15-minute period (if required). A half allows for three timeouts for each team.

2) How long is a college football overtime period?

The 63-57 victory over Virginia State in eight overtimes by Bethune-Cookman in 1998 still holds the record for the longest overtime game in college football.

3) What determines a tie in college football?

In the event of a three-way tie, the head-to-head concept is first applied to the won-loss records of the tied teams. The records of each team against the highest-seeded team not involved in the tie are taken into account if the teams are still tied.

4) Which game required seven overtime?

The University of Kentucky Wildcats and University of Arkansas Razorbacks played a college football game on November 1, 2003, which at the time tied an NCAA record for the longest football game ever played. There were seven extra periods throughout the contest.

Related Articles

What is Orbit Exchange Commission?

Orbit Exchange Account

Setting up an Orbit Exchange Account

Orbit Exchange Brokers

Important features of Orbit Exchange

How is Cryptocurrency linked with Orbit Exchange? 

Orbit Exchange Registration

Role of Commission on Orbit Exchange

Overview of Orbit Exchange

What is Betting Exchange? 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *